I have to confess that most of the time during the 20 minute poses I give in to the urge we all have. I cheat. I look around at what everyone else is doing and question whatever choice I made. Why did I focus on the hands? Why did I do a full body and not focus on the face? Why am I not better? Why did I choose to do watercolor? And every once and a while you will see someone doing something so different that I will just wonder why am I not doing whatever the hell they are?

But let’s be honst. We go to life sketching classes to practice our skill. It is not a place to make a finished product. It is not a place to show off. Instead it is a place that we can all go where we can forget everything but looking at what is in front of us and trying to capture it as best we can. To study the human figure of a brave individual that allows us to see them. It is an amazing thing, and I always leave class wishing I spent less time looking around or looking at my own sketch, rather than trying to capture whatever is in front of me.

Here are all 3 of my 20 minute poses. I was going to only post 2, since one is eh. But really after everything I just said could I do that?

 

Image

Image

Image

